Not just another day at the office

It was 1:42 p.m. when I heard a buzz of activity and voices outside my cubicle. I was in the middle of typing up a financial report for Larry when he stuck his head in and told me that there was an emergency meeting.

****

Due to the large number of staff attending and still struggling to get in from the hallway the meeting did not get started until ten minutes later. Eric Johnson, our company president, finally entered and walked to the front of the room and held up his hands asking for quiet. It was another two or three minutes before the last voice had died away. Mr. Johnson looked over out the left side window and shook his head. I glanced that way but could only see some smoke in the far distance, probably a house fire or something.

“May I have your attention please? I have an announcement. I don’t have any answers yet, so there will not be a question/answer time after. Please bear with me until I can get more up-to-date information.

“There has been an explosion at our new headquarters site.”

There were gasps and shouts of disbelief from many around the room.

********

“It appears to have been a car bomb,” he continued. “There may have been a number of injuries among the construction crew because some of the structure may have collapsed. I don’t have anything else at this time. I will let you know more as soon as the police can give me some updates.”

Larry immediately grabbed my hand, knowing that I would need some support.

My head was spinning, fear gripped my stomach tightly.

“Cliff! Oh my God! Cliff!’ I shouted.

************

Who would use a car bomb against a large real-estate firm in downtown Houston, Texas and exactly what were they trying to do? And exactly why would our heroine be so upset and who, exactly, is Cliff, and what does he have to do with this?

***********

Find out the exciting answers to this and so many more questions as Tina McIntyre finds both love and terror at the same time. Thrilling car-chases; desperate gun-battles; love-at-first-sight; exotic honeymoon; assassination attempts — oh, did I mention steamy love scenes? Let your mind be swept away by the exciting, edge of your seat Romance/Thriller: Rising from the Ashes by Marchela Wells.

Xlibris

Leave a Reply

