A chapter in tribute to Jodi Taylor

Chapter 33. – Molly has a lesson in makeup.

“Molly,” Mrs. Stinson began, “the very first thing that a beautiful woman does before applying any makeup is to cleanse the facial skin completely. Now looking closely at your face I see that you don’t have any scars, discoloration or acne, so you are already three steps ahead of many girls your age.

“Now, this container has what is known as Foundation. You need to first wash your hands good with soap and water. Afterward, I’m going to pour a small amount onto the palm of your hand. What you will need to do is to use your fingers to apply the makeup smoothly and evenly.  You’ll find that the heat from your hand will help it to blend and make it work faster.”

Molly followed the instructions closely, scrubbing her hands clean, then dabbed her fingers in the foundation that Christina poured onto her palms, with her fingertips, she blended it gently and smoothly over her face. When she had completed that process, she washed the remainder of the Foundation from her hands.

“Next,” Christina continued, “is this small bottle of distilled water. It’s important to use a small  bottle of distilled water rather than tap water; tap water contains bacteria which will damage any makeup products it touches. For your next step, you will work on your eyes.

“This is an eyeliner brush. Dip it into the distilled water first and then into this Powered Eyeshadow. Now brush it on smoothly and gently, making sure not to get any into your eyes.

“Yes, very nice.” Christina was pleased with how quickly Molly seemed to learn the process.

“Now comes the Eyeliner. Use this small brush. Note that the tip is small, square and flat and just a little soft. Take that brush and swish the tip gently back and forth into the brown eyeshadow.  Tap the brush over a paper towel and then rest your elbow on the table. That will steady your hand. Now, take your other hand and place a finger on the outer edge of your eye between the upper eyelid and your eyebrow. Yes, that’s it, not too hard, apply a slight upward pressure.

“Now, with the brush next to the lashes, make a series of dashes from the outer eye inward to the center.  Like this  – – – – –

Repeat this for the lower eyelid.  When you’re done, the dashes will all run together in one continuous line.

“The next step would be to deal with your eyebrows. But after looking at yours more closely, I don’t think that you will need to worry about that process. Your eyebrows are perfect.  Now let’s work on your eyelashes. You have wonderful eyelashes, this process will make them fluffy, flirty and thick. Just the kind of thing that might attract a handsome young doctor to give you a second look.”

MRS. STINSON. Why would you say such a thing? I’m just trying to make myself presentable, and I don’t want Owen to be embarrassed or ashamed of the way that I look when we go to church.”

“Yes, I know exactly how you feel. Molly. Don’t be ashamed, Doctor Williamson would be a great catch and I, for one, want you to be successful and happy. Happiness comes in many forms in this life. Probably the one that is most satisfying is to have a man in your life who appreciates you for yourself and can see past the troubles that you had in the past. I’m positive that the good doctor certainly qualifies on that score.

Molly flushed every time Christina mentioned Doctor Williamson name and her heart beat rapidly in her chest.

Does she think I have a chance? Is it still possible after all that I’ve been through and done that someone like Doctor Williamson would even look at me? Oh, how I wish it were true.’

“Now, back to those beautiful eyelashes of yours,” Christina’s voice broke through her thoughts again. ”This small brush is called an eyelash curler. You are going to be using some mascara First use some of the translucent powder on your upper cheek.

“Okay, that’s enough. Now curl your eyelashes by placing the eyelash curler close to the upper lashes and press it one at a time.  Remove the wand from the applicator and now use a tissue to wipe that clump off of the tip. Take the wand and place it at the base of your upper lashes and wiggle it gently while you move it upward.  Yes, just like that.  You’re doing this well, Molly, are you sure that you’ve never done this?.”

“No, Christina. This is my first time ever.”

“Thank you, Christiana. I just hope that I can remember all of these steps the next time.”

“Don’t worry. I’ll be here to help you until you get the process down perfectly. I don’t want my pretty daughter going out into the world unprepared. I know that you are going to ‘knock them dead.”

“You’re so kind and sweet, Christina. I love you very much.”

“And I love you as well. I want only the best in life for you. Now you need to finish off with the bottom lashes. Take this tissue and place it under them at the base. Using only the tip of the wand, give a light coat to them and then brush off any specks that are on your cheeks.

“Yes, that looks perfect. Now for those all-important lips. You will want to make them full and luscious, so start with a natural lipstick color on either the top or bottom lip. Press them together so that the lipstick spreads evenly over both surfaces. Now use this lip gloss over both lips to complete the process.

“Now, if I were a man, I would probably have an overwhelming desire to press my lips against yours, Molly. They are simply perfect.  Exactly what any man desires.”

“You’re so silly, Christina. I don’t think that Owen thinks that way.”

“You just wait. I think that you will be pleasantly surprised.”

“Okay, that enough about Mr. Dreamboat. Take that large brush there and apply some powder to your cheeks. Let’s use some of the Banana Powder today. I hear that lots of celebrities use this because it gives your skin that healthy look.

“Now for that last touch, and this one you need to be very careful not to overdo and that is the Blush. It will give you that last POP of color to your cheeks. Since this is going to be a daytime event you only need one light swipe, yes, just so. Now, you’re done.

“Why don’t you stand over there by the window. That will give me a pretty good idea of how you are going to look in the sunlight.

Jodi Taylor

“Molly — you look simply stunning! A visual treat for any male, especially one that will be taking you to church.  Oh, Molly, I’m so happy for you. I only wish I had been as prepared the first day that I met Cliff. He probably wouldn’t agree, but then, I think that he is a little biased where I’m concerned.”

Leave a Reply

