Writing a Romance novel #AdultRomance #writing

Hi,

Many years ago my wife purchased the complete VHS set of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice staring Jennifer Ehle and Colin Firth as a Christmas gift. I was busy and was unfamiliar with this story. The videos sat on my bookshelf, unopened and unwatched.

One day, about six months later, I decided to take the plunge and extracted the first video from its case. I shoved it into my VHS player and sat back prepared to be bored. From the opening credits I was captivated. I love historical romance, you see, and this is a period piece set in roughly the year 1811/1812. I vaguely recall reading Sense and Sensibility when I was in college but this one had escaped my notice.

Day after day for the next several months I watched the videos over and over. I absorbed every frame. Finally the VHS tapes began to wear out. I decided to purchase a DVD player and ordered the DVD from Amazon.com, rush delivery. The video quality was much improved. I continued to watch the videos over and over. I think that I drove my wife mad. When the Blu-Ray edition came out I ordered that, and was pleased that the video quality was even improved over the DVD.

After hundreds of views, I then purchased all of the other movies that had been made of Jane Austen novels. I created and wrote a number of short stories based on ‘missing scenes’ from P&P and posted them to a web-site Pemberly.com.  Other people, mostly women and young girls also wrote stories and posted them there. Many of those stories are wonderful creations by imaginative authors.

Last  year, after having been retired for several years I decided to create my own Romance novel and that is how Rising from the Ashes by pen-name Marchela Wells was created.

I hop that you read and enjoy my story. Here’s a link to a video promo: YouTube video: Rising from the Ashes

Here’s a link to my novel: Amazon.com

If you read and enjoy the novel I would deeply appreciate it if you could post a Reader’s Review on the Amazon site. That’s how book authors get noticed.

thank you for your time.

 

 

Leave a Reply

